JUROR 2012

Lei-Mei Julia Chiu

Jury Co-Chair

President, Icograda (International Council of Communication Design)
Executive Director, Japan Institute of Design Promotion
Professor, Musashino Art University


Leimei specializes in international policies on creative cities and has worked with governments and academic institutions across Europe, North America and the Pan Pacific Rim to implement design policies and strategic visions for the development of creative industries.

She has lectured at design conferences and academic institutions in over 31 countries. From 1997 to 2001, Julia served as an Icograda Vice President and Executive Board Member of the International Council Societies of Industrial Design (Icsid) from 2007-2009. A recipient of Icograda President’s Award, she has served on numerous competition juries including Adobe Design Achievement Awards, APCI Award, BIO (Biennale of Industrial Design), Red Dot Design Concept Award, Red Star Award, Brno Biennial, Design for Asia Award, Most Successful Chinese Designer Award, SABS Design Excellence Award, World Design Leadership Award, World Package Organization Competition and the Good Design Award.

Founded in 1963, Icograda is the world body for communication design, with over 215 member organizations (design promotion centers, professional design organizations, academic institutions and corporate members) in 129 cities and 67 countries. Icograda maintains consultative status with UNESCO, UNIDO and WIPO. Icograda is a member of IFRRO and is in liaison with technical committees of ISO.



Hans Tan


Founder, Hans Tan Studio; and Assistant Professor, Division of Industrial Design,
National University of Singapore
Hans Tan Studio